Home       Menu

Iceland Urvalsdeild league predictions, table, fixtures and scorers

Iceland football Urvalsdeidl

Úrvalsdeild karla is the most important men's football league in Iceland

The Úrvalsdeild karla is the most important men's football league in Iceland. It is played since 1912. Due to the harsh winter in Iceland, it is usually played in spring and summer (May to September). It is led by the Icelandic Football Association (KSI) and has 12 teams. By the end of the 2015-2016 season, UEFA finished 35th in Europe. On 27 April 2009, the league was branded in a three-year contract with Ölgerðin, the Icelandic franchisee for Pepsi, and popularly referred to as Pepsi-Deildin (The Pepsi League).

Need football betting tips for free ? Or place free bet on premier league football fixture ? MrPredict gives you the guidance in your football betting. Find the best football odds, read premier league news or latest premier league videos. Will Chelsea or Arsenal win the game ? Who will be the goalscorer, Abraham ? MrPredict provides daily updated football betting tips and predictions.

The league has 12 clubs playing a home game and an away game together. Scores at each season's end determine the ascent and descent: the two teams with the fewest points descend on 1.deild karla (First Division), and the two top teams rise to the higher level. The winner of the Úrvalsdeild will join the Uefa Champions league international competition in the second qualifying round. The second, third and fourth teams qualify in the first qualifying round of the Uefa league.

In the 2008 season, 12 teams started in the Premier Division. As a result of KSI's efforts to strengthen Icelandic football, only one team relegated to First Division in the 2007 season and three clubs rose to the Premier League.

Championship titles include KR with 26, Valur with 22 and ÍA and Fram Reykjavík each with 18. FH has 8 and Víkingur has 5. The defending champion of 2018 is Valur.

The Icelandic championship title was won by 11 teams in its more than 100 years of existence. KR have the most titles, with 26. Stjarnan Garðabær are the last to join the league and win their first title in 2014.

The league was dominated by teams from the capital region, which is home to almost two thirds of the Icelandic population. Only four teams outside the GRA have ever won the league: (Keflavík, ÍA, ÍBV and KA). ÍBV and KA have won four titles and are more than an hour's drive from Reykjavík and the longest distance teams from the capital to the title.

facebook sharing button    twitter sharing button    pinterest sharing button    sharing button

Responsible Gambling information

Follow us:  facebook follow button     twitter follow button

Home   LiveScore  Free Bet

Copyright © 2021  MrPredict.com: betting tips and football predictions